Seven School Districts Awarded School Safety Grants, Ortitay Says
HARRISBURG — The School Safety and Security Committee, of which Rep. Jason Ortitay (R-Washington/Allegheny) is a member, today awarded about $53.7 million in School Safety and Security Grants to school districts, vocational schools, intermediate units and charter schools across the state.

The 17-member committee within the Pennsylvania Commission on Crime and Delinquency was created as part of Act 44 of 2018, a comprehensive school safety law passed in 2018. One of its duties is to help distribute both meritorious and competitive grants.

“While I’m pleased we were able to assist schools throughout our Commonwealth with improving their safety and security, I must call attention to the fact that the governor has proposed cutting this grant program for next fiscal year,” Ortitay said. “As safety and security is a top concern for parents, administrators and students, it makes little sense to eliminate this important grant program. We cannot prepare children for the future if they don’t feel safe coming to school.”

Those receiving grants in the 46th Legislative District are:

• Burgettstown Area School District – $89,815 for equipment, training and staff.
• Canon-McMillan School District – $45,000 for equipment.
• Chartiers Valley School District -- $40,000 for equipment, training and staff.
• Fort Cherry School District – $285,760 for equipment, training, a student service coordinator and mental health consultants.
• South Fayette Township School District -- $40,000 for equipment.
• Trinity Area School District -- $40,000 for equipment and training.
• West Allegheny School District -- $40,000 for equipment.

The 46th Legislative District includes Collier and South Fayette townships and Bridgeville, Heidelberg, McDonald and Oakdale boroughs in Allegheny County. It also encompasses Canton, Cecil, Mt. Pleasant, Robinson and Smith townships and Burgettstown, McDonald and Midway boroughs in Washington County.

Representative Jason Ortitay
46th Legislative District
Pennsylvania House of Representatives

Media Contact: Tracy Polovick
717.260.6358 /